Monday, February 28, 2011

Frank Turner: New Album – New Tour – Festival Appearances

Frank credit Erik Weiss 2011
After a busy few months of writing and recording tracks in a studio in North London, Frank Turner emerges with details of his forthcoming album, dates for an intimate UK solo tour and news of some very exciting summer festival appearances.
It’s going to be another exceptional year…

Folk/punk hero (and NME Award nominee for Best Solo Artist) Frank will release his highly anticipated fourth album ‘England Keep My Bones’ on 6th June 2011 through Xtra Mile Recordings for UK and Ireland and on 7th June 2011 through Epitaph Records for the rest of the world.
Recorded in Crouch End’s stunning Church Studios, Frank, together with his band and producer Tristan Ivemy has, as the name of the album suggests, created a record with the quintessential English sound Frank has been searching for.

Unsurprisingly, for an artist who spends the majority of his time travelling around the world, ‘England Keep My Bones’ has a nostalgic feel to it – an homage to his homeland, friends and family he so often has to leave behind. With the acoustic guitar very much at its core, the album is more folky than predecessor ‘Poetry Of The Deed’ and even includes an a cappella song done in a traditional English style. Featuring contributions from ex-Hold Steady keyboardist Franz Nicolay, folk singers Emily Barker and Chris T-T, and Unbelievable Truth’s Andy Yorke, he covers themes of mortality, relationships and religion in what is a bold, ballsy yet beautiful album.
Frank says:
"I can't wait to get this record out there. The new songs have been going down really well live, but I think that when people hear the studio versions they're going to go nuts. I think it's the strongest set of material I've had on one record."

He will be showcasing some of these tracks when he takes to the road for a special solo tour in May. Playing small and intimate venues up and down the country, this will be a fantastic chance to see Frank up close and personal before he spends the summer playing to vast crowds of festival go-ers all over the world.
The dates are as follows:


9 Stockton ARC
10 Dundee Doghouse
11 Dunfermline, PJ Molloys
12 Brighton Coalition
13 Nottingham Rescue Rooms
14 Lancaster Library
15 Chester Telfords Warehouse
16 Leeds Brudenell Social Club
18 Manchester Night & Day
19 Liverpool Cathedral Crypt
20 Stoke Sugarmill
22 Wolverhampton Slade Room
23 Gloucester Guidhall
24 Bristol St Georges Church
25 Bath Komedia
26 Kingston Hippodrome (New Slang)
27 Cambridge St Pauls Church
28 Norwich Play Festival
29 Portsmouth Wedgewood Rooms
30 Winchester Railway

This summer will see Frank play a staggering array of festivals over the summer months including headlining the third stage at Download Festival on 12th June and headlining Blissfields Festival on 1st July. Further festival news to come very soon.

For More Information: & &

For further info contact: - 020-7792-9400

Labels: , , ,

Wednesday, February 16, 2011

The Xcerts announce headling tour!

With the release of their brand new five track EP ‘The Stairs To Noise : The Scatterbrain EP’ on 7th March, THE XCERTS are ready to announce their forthcoming headline tour. Dates are as follows:

FRI 1 Sheffield, The Leadmill
SAT 2 Stoke, The Sugarmill
SUN 3 Wrexham, Central Station
TUE 5 Dundee, Doghouse
WED 6 Aberdeen, Drummonds
THU 7 Stirling, Fubar
FRI 8 Edinburgh, Studio 24
SAT 9 Carlisle The Brickyard
SUN 10 Newcastle, O2 Academy
TUE 12 Birmingham, The Flapper & Firkin
WED 13 Nottingham, Rock City
THU 14 Bristol, Start The Bus
FRI 15 Plymouth, White Rabbit
SAT 16 Exeter, The Cavern
MON 18 London, The Barfly
TUE 19 Cardiff, Clwb Ifor Bach
WED 20 Liverpool, Shipping Forecast
THU 21 Northampton, Roadmender

The band take to the road with Dinosaur Pile-Up and Japanese Voyeur tomorrow as part of the Rock Sound Exposure tour. You can watch the video for the title track from the EP here:

Labels: , , , ,

Wednesday, February 2, 2011

Frank Turner & Jon Snodgrass 'Buddies' Digital

Frank Turner & Jon Snodgrass - Buddies Sleeve

After receiving a lot of requests from fans of Frank Turner and John Snodgrass we have decided to make their 'Buddies' which was previously only available on limited edition 10'' coloured vinyl through the Xtra Mile webstore available as a download at all digital retailers in the UK only. You can get it this week from the following retails:

HMV Digital

Labels: , , ,

Tuesday, February 1, 2011

Xtra Mile are delighted to welcome Sucioperro to the Xtra Mile family!

Release new EP 'The Reflexes of the Dead', Chris Sheldon (Foo Fighters, Pixies, Therapy?...) mixed album ‘The Heart String and How To Pull It’ and announce forthcoming tour dates


- JP Reid (Vocals/Guitar) - Fergus Munro (Vocals/Drums) - Stewart Chown (Vocals/Bass) -

Scottish rock outfit SUCIOPERRO will be joining the Xtra Mile Recordings family (Far, Reuben, Frank Turner...) for the release of their forthcoming album ‘The Heart String & How To Pull It’. The album will be the trio’s third full-length record and it is to be released on the 7th March on CD and download. Not being a band who seem to suffer from writers block, ‘The Heart String & How To Pull It’ will be preceded by the release of a 6 track EP titled ‘Reflexes of the Dead’ a week earlier (28th February) with the title track from the EP also appearing on the full-length album.

As well as being highly prolific song writers Sucioperro are very familiar with the live circuit having toured with Hell Is for Heroes, Oceansize, Reuben, Brigade, Fightstar and Biffy Clyro in the past. The latter, are in fact good friends with the band with Biffy frontman Simon Neil and Sucioperro front man JP Reid coming together to form their alter-ego Marmaduke Duke.

Sucioperro - The Heart Strings and How To Pull It art Sucioperro - Reflexes Of The Dead

‘The Heart String & How To Pull It’ was mixed by super-producer Chris Sheldon (Foo Fighters, Pixies, Reuben, Therapy?...) and recorded at The Lair in Scotland. Speaking of the recording process frontman JP Reid says "It was the most relaxed and fun sessions I've ever been involved in. In fact everything went so smoothly it felt a bit strange because we're not used to it. Sheldon as ever was an absolute star at bringing out the best in the tracks and making it powerful. Credit also to Chris Gordon who also done an amazing job on the mastering. We really wanted to make a joyous and euphoric album, the opposite of (the band’s second record) ‘Pain Agency’. I guess for anyone into our darker side, some of it may be surprising but we weren't interested in treading ground we had already walked on. It's super important for us to keep taking risks and progressing."

The tracklisting for ‘The Heart String & How To Pull It’ is:

1. Running From All That Doesn't Tempt You
2. Threads
3. Reflexes Of The Dead
4. Out & Over
5. I Jumped Into The Heart Of A Black Situation
6. Ideals Have Value
7. Invisible Monsters
8. Is That Why You Pull Me In?
9. Delicious
10. Landslide
11. Hands

In support of the release of ‘The Heart String & How To Pull It’ the band will be playing the following shows and in-store tour dates:

19th King Tuts with Grinspoon
20th Academy 2 Newcastle with Grinspoon
25th Relentless Garage London with Grinspoon
7 Love Music Glasgow (In-store)
8 One Up Aberdeen (In-store)
9 Grouchos Dundee (In-store)
21 Barfly London
22 Joiners Southampton
23 Brighton The Hydrant
24 Soundhouse Northampton
25 The Maze Nottingham
26 Roadhouse Manchester
28 Liverpool Shipping Forecast
29 The Lamp Hull
31 Stereo York
1 Live Lounge Durham
5 Drummonds Aberdeen
6 Dundee Beat Generator
7 Arches Glasgow
8 Sneaky Petes Edinburgh

For more information please contact Dan Griffiths (National & Online) Anthea (Regional) – 020 7792 9400

Labels: , , ,